Bristol County

Bristol County highlighted mass county town mapBristol County is located in south eastern Massachusetts. It is bordered to the west by the Rhode Island State Line, to the north by Norfolk County, to the East by Plymouth County, and to the south by The Atlantic Ocean. The 2012 population for Bristol County was estimated to be 548,285. There are a total of 16 towns and 4 cities in Bristol County with the largest being New Bedford. Bristol County has an area of 691.19 square miles.

Bristol is one of five counties in Massachusetts that still has a county government. In addition to having County Commissioners, there are three Registry of Deeds, and an elected Treasurer for the entire county. The Registry of Deeds is broken up as follows:  Fall River Registry of Deeds covers Fall River, Somerset, Swansea and Freetown;  The Southern District Registry of Deeds covers Acushnet, Dartmouth, Fairhaven, New Bedford and Westport;  And the Northern District Registry of Deeds services Attleboro, Berkley, Dighton, Easton, Mansfield, North Attleborough, Norton, Raynham, Rehoboth, Seekonk. and Taunton. The County Sheriff is elected by the voters of Bristol County, as is the Clerk of Courts. The County seat is located in Taunton.

Bristol County, Massachusetts

TownCountyLand area (sq mi)Population (2010)
AcushnetBristol County18.9610303
Attleboro (City)Bristol County27.843593
BerkleyBristol County17.416411
DartmouthBristol County97.5334032
DightonBristol County22.597086
EastonBristol County29.223112
FairhavenBristol County14.115873
Fall River (City)Bristol County40.2388857
FreetownBristol County38.38870
MansfieldBristol County20.723184
New Bedford (City)Bristol County24.1395072
North AttleboroughBristol County19.128712
NortonBristol County29.819031
RaynhamBristol County20.913383
RehobothBristol County46.811608
SeekonkBristol County18.413722
SomersetBristol County1218165
SwanseaBristol County25.515865
Taunton (City)Bristol County48.4255874
WestportBristol County64.415532