Dukes County

Dukes County highlighted mass county town mapDukes County consists of 11 islands off the southeast coast of Massachusetts, with the largest island being Martha’s Vineyard. It is bordered on all sides by the Atlantic Ocean. The 2012 population for Dukes County was estimated to be 17,041. There are a total of 7 towns in Dukes County with the largest being the Town of Oak Bluffs. Dukes County has an area of 490.95 square miles, however only 103.78 square miles is land.

Dukes is one of five counties in Massachusetts that still has a county government. In addition to having County Commissioners, county services include land records, vocational education, Trial Court facilities maintenance, engineering, conservation, recreation, volunteer programs, and additional statutory responsibilities. The county seat is located in Edgartown.


Dukes County, Massachusetts

TownCountyLand area (sq mi)Population (2010)
AquinnahDukes County40.8311
ChilmarkDukes County100.4843
EdgartownDukes County122.74067
GosnoldDukes County140.252
Oak BluffsDukes County264527
TisburyDukes County19.23949
West TisburyDukes County41.72740