Plymouth County

Plymouth county highlighted mass county town mapPlymouth County is located in south eastern Massachusetts. It is bordered to the west by Bristol County, to the north by Norfolk County and The Atlantic Ocean, to the East by The Atlantic Ocean, to the south by Barnstable County and The Atlantic Ocean. The 2012 population for Plymouth County was estimated to be 499,759. There are a total of 26 towns and 1 city in Plymouth County with the largest being Brockton. Plymouth County has a land area of 1,093.39 square miles.

Plymouth is one of five counties in Massachusetts that still has a county government. In addition to having County Commissioners, there is an elected Register of Deeds, and an elected Treasurer for the entire county. The County Sheriff is elected by the voters of Plymouth County, as is the Clerk of Courts. Plymouth County has two county seats Plymouth and Brockton.


Plymouth County, Massachusetts

TownCountyLand area (sq mi)Population (2010)
AbingtonPlymouth County9.88415985
BridgewaterPlymouth County28.226563
Brockton (City)Plymouth County21.693810
CarverPlymouth County39.7311095
DuxburyPlymouth County37.615059
East BridgewaterPlymouth County17.513794
HalifaxPlymouth County17.37518
HanoverPlymouth County15.713879
HansonPlymouth County15.710209
HinghamPlymouth County26.2922157
HullPlymouth County26.8710293
KinstonPlymouth County20.512629
LakevillePlymouth County26.110602
MarionPlymouth County26.144907
MarshfieldPlymouth County31.725132
MattapoisettPlymouth County24.176045
MiddleboroughPlymouth County72.1623116
NorwellPlymouth County21.210506
PembrokePlymouth County23.517837
PlymouthPlymouth County13456468
PlymptonPlymouth County15.12820
RochesterPlymouth County36.45232
RocklandPlymouth County10.117489
ScituatePlymouth County31.818133
WarehamPlymouth County46.321822
West BridgewaterPlymouth County15.686916
WhitmanPlymouth County7.114489